How I Survived Christmas

How I Survived Christmas 009 [edit 2]1. Stock up on essentials ahead of time.

2. Avoid the stores at all costs (see step one). And, pretty much contact with anyone.

3. If someone wishes you “Merry Christmas!” walk away and mumble incoherently.

4. Remove the battery from your cell phone.

5. Never answer your door.

6. Make a pillow fort (optional). I called mine Fort Kickass.

I’ve been called a “Scrooge” or a “Grinch” by many a people. For me, Christmas has become too commercialized to have any true meaning of “good will towards men.” People act good for one day out of the year, as if acting good would absolve them of all of the naughty and bad things they’ve done throughout the year. It feels a bit forced and fake, in my humble opinion. Also, I am not a fan of Christmas music, so that doesn’t help. I suppose you could say I feel a bit like Charlie Brown on Christmas.

But(!), be that as it may, I am all for getting together with family and eating lots of food! Perhaps, that may be the true meaning of Christmas? (Spending time with loved ones.) And, thankfully, my parents decided to stay in town this year.

However, I must say, for me, Thanksgiving is still my favorite holiday. I hope your Christmas was a good one, and, if not, there’s always next year. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

