Dark Dark Dark with Emily Wells, Sunday October 21, 2012 @ Dan’s Silverleaf in Denton

This past Sunday I caught an amazing show at Dan’s Silverleaf in DEmily Wellsenton. First on stage was Texas born artist, from Amarillo, Emily Wells who is amazing to watch on her own. She is a one woman show and she is phenomenal as she is nice. I caught a few of her performances on YouTube and “Symphony 6: Fair Thee Well & the Requiem Mix” was without a doubt one of the major reasons I was there to see her live. She performed this piece on stage and performed it remarkably! After her set, I had the opportunity of meeting her and snagging an autographed copy of her album The Symphonies: Dreams Memories & Parties. I will not lie. I am not a fan of hip-hop, but if it’s performed by Emily Wells I am in awe and more than willing to listen.

The next group to take the stage was Minnesota’s own Dark Dark Dark. I visited their website a few weeks before the show (cleverly called brightbrightbright.com). While on the site, there was a music player playing Dark Dark Darktheir song “How It Went Down” off their new album Who Needs Who. Without a doubt, one of the best songs I’ve heard all year. It is painfully beautiful. When Dark Dark Dark performed this song on stage, I felt my pupils dilate, and felt everyone around me dissolve. I felt numb and felt as though I was the only there with the band. It was beautifully done.

I am simply amazed that I can catch such an awesome band and artist, in such a personal venue for such an amazing price of twelve dollars. Without a doubt, I highly recommend these two albums. These are both very talented groups of artists who bring a much needed feeling of fulfillment in the discovery of new music.

Leave a Reply

