The Lost Art of the Mixed Tape

A few months ago I purchased a 1999 Subaru Outback, whom I have dubbed Nigel (I name my cars). Why would one person have two vehicles? Well, I needed a bigger car to carry things around. This car will also come in handy when hauling my road bike around. The other car I have requires that you remove the front tire of my bicycle in order for it to fit in the trunk. It’s alsoMixed Tape smaller and does not have AWD (All Wheel Drive) like most Subaru’s. And if another friend wants to join me on a quick ride, then we can just throw the bikes on top once I get a rooftop bike rack. Despite all of these pros the car came with one major con: A Panasonic factory tape deck. Though, I suppose, the tape deck does serve as a major theft deterrent. So, I’ve had to rediscover the lost art of the mixed tape. Do they still sale blank audio cassette tapes? Radio Shack does. And thanks to iTunes, I can create two playlists: Mixed Tape Side A and Mixed Tape Side B. iTunes will show me the amount of time on each playlist. This is critical as cassette tapes will only allow you a certain amount of time on each side. A 90 minute cassette tape will give you 45 minutes on each side. I use an audio cable from the headphone jack of my laptop and run it to a small stereo that records to cassette tapes. Surprisingly, I found this stereo at a Target. The sound quality? Is not that great, I’ll admit. I know that I’ll eventually get tired of having to put songs on tape, but, for the time being, I’m perfectly content with making mixed tapes of new artist who have probably never owned a cassette tape in their lives.

Leave a Reply

