Rahr Oktoberfest 5k

5k Rahr Oktoberfest 2012So, yesterday I took part in the 3rd annual Rahr Oktoberfest 5k held in Fort Worth at the Rahr Brewery (where else?). It is without a doubt a fun experience. Last year I walked all of it with a friend who’s cardio makes mine look like I’m a marathon runner. This year, however, I actually ran (for most of it) to see where I would qualify. And to see how well, or how badly, I’d do. I placed 66th in my age group, and it was probably out of 66 runners. My cardio has never been something to brag about. For this exact reason I’ve purchased a road bike earlier this year. Which, sadly, has been collecting dust over these past few months. What can I say? This warm Texas weather makes it less ideal to ride. Throw in the fact that Daylight Savings Time puts sunset at around 8:00 pm, and I’m least likely to ride due to the fact that I have to wake up at 5:00 am every morning for work. But! The fall weather is upon us! Hoorah! And I will definitely be riding my bike a lot more than usual. Because not only is the weather starting to get cooler, but, also, the sun is now starting to go down at around 7:00 pm instead. You gotta love the fall season! I know I do. It’s my favorite!

Leave a Reply

